What's on


The voter turnout for the seventh Representative Council Elections of ISYY was 21,05%

Voting of the Representative Council Elections of the Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland closed on the 3rd of November 2021 at 6 pm. The elected people form the highest decision-making body of the Student Union, the 39-member Representative Council, for the following two-year term of office.

Deeku and Vihreä Lista celebrate their electoral victory, both receiving 6 seats in the Representative Council.

Candidates who received the most votes were Aino Seppänen (90 votes) and Matti Karhunen (75 votes) from Deeku. 

The elections had 128 candidates from 10 different lists of candidates.

The voter turnout became 21,05 % (2,872 votes), which is a little lower than in 2019. In 2019, the voter turnout was 27.5 % (3,669 votes). Eligible voters gave 1,702 votes (12.47 %) in advance in the elections on 25.–29.10.2021. The elections were held completely electronically.

"The voting turnout this time was low. Reachability of elections on campuses has been a bit more challenging due to the COVID-19. Nevertheless, the election was a great success and we have a new  Representative Council for the next two years. Thank you to every voter and candidate and congratulations to the new representatives", says Chairperson of the Central Elections Committee Matti Averio.

The new Representative Council will gather for the first time on the 1st of December 2021, when it, for example, chooses a Chairperson for the new Council and appoints the next year’s Executive Board. The Representative Council’s term of office lasts for two years.

The Central Election Committee performed the counting of votes on the 3rd of November 2021 when the voting ended at 6 pm.

Representative Council groups’ distribution of positions (change to 2019):

  • Deeku: 6 (no change)
  • Kylterit: 5 (no change)
  • Vihreä lista: 6 (+1)
  • FaBio: 5 (+1)
  • Savilahden Sivistyneet: 4 (+1)
  • Opiskelijoiden Etu - The Students Interest: 1 (-2)
  • Keskeiset: 3 (no change)
  • ISYYn Demariopiskelijat: 2 (no change)
  • Opiskelevat kokoomuslaiset: 3 (+2)
  • Itä-Suomen Vihreä Vasemmisto: 4 (+3)

Three candidates who received the most votes:

  • Aino Seppänen, Deeku: 90 votes
  • Matti Karhunen, Deeku: 75 votes
  • Riku Kukkonen, Savilahden Sivistyneet: 70 votes

Read More:

Isyy.fi, opens in a new tab: Results

Isyy.fi, opens in a new tab: Results of the elections 2021 (PDF, in Finnish)

More Information:

Matti Averio, Chairperson of the Central Election Committee, Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland, kvl.pj(at)isyy.fi, tel. +358 50 521 3158

Mikko Aaltonen, Secretary of the Central Election Committee, Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland, koso(at)isyy.fi, tel. +358 44 576 8414