The voter turnout for the eight Representative Council elections of ISYY was 23,97%

Wed Nov 08 22:39:00 2023

Voting of the Representative Council Elections of the Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland closed on the 8th of November 2023 at 6 pm. The elected people form the highest decision-making body of the Student Union, the 39-member Representative Council, for the following two-year term of office.

Itä-Suomen Vihreä Vasemmisto and Kylterit celebrate their electoral victory, both receiving 6 seats in the Representative Council.

Candidates who received the most votes were Ville Salokangas (152 votes) from DeeKu and Maija Kuivalainen (100 votes) from Itä-Suomen Vihreä Vasemmisto. 

The elections had 113 candidates from 9 different lists of candidates.

The voter turnout became 23,97 % (3,464 votes), which is a little higher than in 2021. In 2021, the voter turnout was 21,05 % (2,872 votes). Eligible voters gave 2,771 votes (19,2 %) in advance in the elections on 31.10.–7.11.2023. The elections were held completely electronically and the voting was organised in Tuudo.

– I’m glad that the voter turnout increased compared to the Representative Council elections 2021, although I hoped for a higher turnout. The elections overall went well, and Tuudo served as a great platform for voting. Now we have a new elected ISYY Council for the upcoming term. I wish all the elected representatives success in their roles and thank everyone who ran for elections, says Chairperson of the Central Elections Committee Wilma Poutanen.

The new Representative Council will gather for the first time on the 23rd of November 2023, when they, for example, chooses the Chairpersons for the new Council and appoints the next year’s Executive Board. The Representative Council’s term of office lasts for two years.

The Central Election Committee performed the counting of votes on the 8th of November 2023 when the voting ended at 6 pm.

Representative Council groups’ distribution of positions (change to 2021):

  • Deeku: 5 (-1)
  • Kylterit: 6 (+1)
  • Vihreä lista: 5 (-1)
  • FaBio: 3 (-2)
  • Savilahden Sivistyneet: 4 (-)
  • Keskeiset: 4 (+1)
  • ISYYn Demariopiskelijat: 3 (+1)
  • Opiskelevat kokoomuslaiset: 3 (-)
  • Itä-Suomen Vihreä Vasemmisto: 6 (+2)

Three candidates who received the most votes:

  • Ville Salokangas, DeeKu: 152 votes
  • Maija, Kuivalainen, Itä-Suomen Vihreä Vasemmisto: 100 votes
  • Aino Kuosmanen, FaBio: 89 votes

Read More:, opens in a new tab: Results, opens in a new tab: Results of the elections 2023 (in Finnish)

More Information:

Wilma Poutanen, Chairperson of the Central Election Committee, Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland, kvl.pj(at)

Mikko Aaltonen, Secretary of the Central Election Committee, Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland, koso(at), tel. +358 44 576 841