What's on


ISYY Representative Council Meeting's Decisions 1/2023

The Representative Council of the Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland (ISYY) held its first meeting of the year on Thursday 2nd February 2023. In the meeting the Representative Council elected the new Secretary General, discussed about acquisition of new office facilities in Joensuu and also decided about the compensations for the Chairpersons of the Representative Council. Additionally, the Representative Council named new persons for the Financial Committee and for the Foundation Working Group and confirmed the before discussed changes to ISYY’s Rules for the second time. 

Helena Kansanen was elected as the new Secretary General of ISYY. Kansanen will begin in their position on Monday 13th February.

In the discussion about the new office facilities, Representative Council decided that before ISYY continues furthering the acquisition of new office facilities in Joensuu, for both campuses must be done an investigation about the need of facilities. In other words, the acquisition of the new facility won’t be continued at this point.

The Representative Council decided that for the Chairperson will be paid a 1000€ compensation per year 2023 for their position and for the Vice Chairpersons a compensation of 500€.

Lassi Oikkonen has been resigned for their position in the Financial Committee and the Representative Council elected Mikko Miettinen for the open position. The decision about supplementing the Rules Committee was postponed for the next meeting.

ISYY Board has established a working group for establishing the Foundation. The Representative Council supplemented the working group with Miika Hiltunen and Sami Tanskanen. Earlier the Board had named four Board Members and ISYY’s Specialist for Interest Advocacy and invited three persons as members of the working group. After the decisions of the Board and Representative Council, the composition of the working group is the following:

  • Eetu Hyvönen
  • Lassi Oikkonen
  • Otto Korkalainen
  • Mirka Nieminen
  • Pekka Koivaara
  • Aleksi Kinnunen
  • Vesa Janhunen
  • Emilia Honkanen
  • Sami Tanskanen
  • Miika Hiltunen. 

Further information:

Jimi Viita-aho, The Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland (ISYY), Chairperson of the Representative Council, epj(at)isyy.fi, tel. +358 44 576 8406